Founded in 1991 in Richmond, Virginia, ROSMY’s mission is to ensure equal opportunities for success for Virginia’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth through access to support, education, and advocacy. ROSMY continues to be the only organization in the area that directly addresses the unique needs and the healthy social development of LGBTQ youth ages 11-20. It offers weekly youth support meetings, sensitivity training for professionals, educational resources, youth leadership initiatives, and a safe place where all youth are encouraged to value the diverse individuals who make our community a dynamic, exceptional place.

Read more about ROSMY [PDF]

Board of Directors

P. Watson Seaman, President
Michael Thorne-Begland, Vice President
Tamara Orr, Secretary
Robert Acosta-Lewis, Treasurer
John T. Ashley
Melissa Burroughs
Julie Christopher
Sarah E. Cribbs
Rev. Lacette Cross
Lisa Halberstadt
Christin Kennedy
Stacey D. Lawson
Rev. E. Weston Mathews
Sue Ann Messmer
Wanda S. Mitchell
Dalal Maria Salomon

Advisory Board

Katherine Busser
Alan Cohn
Marge Connelly
Jeffrey Lacker
Sen. Donald McEachin
John Sherman
Kristen Szakos
Allison Weinstein

Junior Board

Josh Walters, Junior Board President
Corden Bohannon
Sarah Eisenman
Charles Fields
Gretchen Friday
David Holland
Andy Inge
James Morton
Kyle Viele
Laura Wilson


Ted Lewis, Executive Director

Charles Dyson, Associate Director

Jessica Rathbun-Cook, Youth Programs Director

Linda McNeil, Charlottesville Outreach Coordinator

Patricia Corbett, Outreach Coordinator